What is a Disciple of Christ?

In Luke 10:38–42; 11:1–13; 12:13–40; 13:23–24; and 14:16–33, we learn what it means to be a disciple of Jesus Christ and what the Savior taught about counting the costs of following Him. Essentially what it comes down to is that if we truly understand all that Christ and Heavenly Father have done for us, we would realize we are greatly indebted. These scriptures repeat over and over again that what is ultimately required to be a disciple is that we must be willing to give up all that we have to follow Him. However, here are a few other attributes of a disciple that I found in these scriptures:

mary and martha

  • The story of Martha and Mary teaches us that one important way we can be a disciple is by simply listening to his teachings.
  • Make an effort to have sincere prayers that show gratitude, faith, and asking for forgiveness.
  • Have trust and that Heavenly Father will grant all that you need, thus your prayers will be centered on true faith.
  • We can also give freely and joyfully even when it’s inconvenient.
  • Don’t covet thy neighbor
  • Put your trust in the Lord; as you seek His kingdom, He will make sure you are taken care of physically. He knows your needs and just as He takes care of the rest of His creations on Earth, such as the animals and the plants, He will take care of you too.
  • Be watchful and ready for the Second Coming.
  • Strive to enter into the Kingdom because simply wanting to go there doesn’t make you worthy.
  • Continually strive to “accept” Christ’s invitation to feast. The gospel is a glorious feast, make sure you don’t make excuses or get your priorities wrong.
  • Be willing to let go of everything you have to follow Christ.
  • Offer your whole soul.scripture study
  • Fast
  • Pray

One aspect of accepting Christ’s invitation to the feast that I want to work on… When I think of the feast that Christ has to offer us, I most often think of what a blessing it is to have the scriptures, to feast on His words per say. I’ve always been in the terrible habit of doing my scripture study right before bed. Especially since becoming a mother, it’s really the only quiet time I have unless I try to wake up before my toddler. However, I have had many experiences that help me to understand the power of a “perfect morning.” In other words, waking up early enough to have a meaningful personal study while you’re fresh. Time that you set aside everyday to start the day off strong and to keep the Spirit with you as you go about your daily tasks. Without fail, it work wonders every time I’m able to pull myself out of bed early.  This is one way I know I can more fully accept His invitation. I can fill my spiritual tank every day by waking up early to do my personal studies.

once and for all disciple

May we ever strive to be better disciples of Christ. I encourage you to ask yourself if there’s anything you can do to be a better disciple. Is there something you haven’t been willing to give up? For me, it’s sleep. I have a strong testimony of the importance of becoming better disciples. I’m so grateful for all that Heavenly Father has blessed me with. I’m grateful for Christ and the Atonement. I know they live and love us beyond our comprehension. I know that as we are more dedicated that we’ll be able to touch peoples’ lives. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

What is a Disciple of Christ?

Leave a comment