Following the Lamb of God and Finding Others to do the Same

jesus-and-lambIn John 1:29, 36 John uses the title “Lamb of God” to refer to Jesus Christ. Before His coming, people offered sacrifices, often lambs, to represent the sacrifice that Christ would make in the future. John was selected to prophesy of Christ and prepare the people. He taught that Jesus Christ would be the final offering made on their behalf.

The chart below represents individuals who met Christ and what their actions were after meeting him. This information can be found in John 1:35–51. and Matthew 4:17–25.

Name How They Learned about Jesus Christ What They Did After They Met Jesus Christ
 Andrew and Simon, brothers  Found at their ship, by Christ and John the baptist  The way I understand it, Andrew was introduced to Christ by John the Baptist first. He went and found his brother Simon, to show him the Christ. When Christ told them to follow Him, they straightway left their nets and followed Him.
 James and John, sons of Zebedee  Christ saw them in their ships, mending nets Immediately left their ship, and they father, and followed Christ.
 Philip  Found by Jesus while he was preaching in Galilee  Went to find Nathanael to tell him they found the one, saying: “We have found him, of whom aMoses in the law, and the prophets, did bwrite, Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.”
 Nathanael  Philip took him unto Christ  When Christ said that he already knew Nathanael, Nathanael asked how. Christ explained he saw Nathanael under the fig tree and he responded by proclaiming Christ to be the Son of God and the King of Israel

Note that the two main actions were to follow Christ and find loved ones to bring them unto Christ. This shows these men truly believed that He was the Messiah. I especially love Andrew and Philip’s examples because they had the desire to bring the people they loved unto Christ. If we truly believe in Christ, and all the blessings that come with His gospel, then we would want to share it with everyone! Lehi share’s this same desire as he shares his dream:

“And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great ajoy; wherefore, I began to be bdesirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was cdesirable above all other fruit.” 1 Nephi 8:12

Studying these men and their reactions to meeting the Savior has inspired me to be a better disciple of Christ. I think I’m pretty good at the following, but I have plenty of room for improvement when it comes to finding people to share the gospel with. I was born into a family where my parents, their parents, and all my aunts and uncles were all members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Since I was born, my dad and some of my mom’s brothers and sisters have fallen away from the church. I know that I can work on bringing those people to Christ. I have also started this blog with the hope that it might eventually reach someone who is seeking Christ on the internet. If that’s you, please feel free to contact me or request a visit from missionaries in your local area by clicking this link: http://www.mormon.org/missionaries. We would love to share the message of Christ with you.

I know with all of my Heart that Christ is the true Messiah and He came to redeem us from our sins. I am grateful for his infinite sacrifice that can undo every sin, weakness, or pain that we experience in this life. I know that I have the opportunity to have eternal life and live with my family forever if I but follow his commandments and find people to share the gospel with. The gospel brings me joy everyday and I would want that joy for everyone on the entire earth. I say these things, in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Following the Lamb of God and Finding Others to do the Same

2 thoughts on “Following the Lamb of God and Finding Others to do the Same

  1. pat says:

    Excellent,Grae!
    How I love the Saviour!
    I know He guides and directs our lives!
    Your testimony resonates within my soul. 😀
    He lives! He loves us! He hearts and answers our prayers. 😀
    This I know!❤❤

    Like

Leave a comment